TBR and UT Library Deans and Directors

Spring meeting

May 4, 2006

TBR Headquarters, Board Room


The group was welcomed by co-chairs Drs. Barbara Dewey, Dean of Libraries at the University of Tennessee, and Dr. Sylveria Ford, Dean of Libraries at the University of Memphis.  Each present introduced themselves to the group 


The initial discussion centered on the budgeting status of the library in each institution.  In general, operating monies were flat despite inflationary cost increases in the price of all formats of information.  Several of the larger institutions reported no budgeting for books.  Discussion followed concerning reduction and/or elimination of paper journal subscription, TBR institutional reliance on TAF funding, and the necessity to build endowments and development and promotion of one-time funding projects.  TBR institutions referred to partnership efforts to increase access and decrease costs, citing the FMG streaming video collection put together by the TBR Media Consortium and collective state licensing thru the RODP program. 


The discussion turned to review of other suggestions for state wide shared e-resources.  Dr. Dewey reaffirmed UT’s committment to continued support of state efforts, especially thru TENN-SHARE, and noted that Linda Phillips will continue her extensive efforts there.  Suresh Ponnappa updated the group on TBR efforts to collaborate on TENN-SHARE purchasing and reiterated the request that TBR review the proposed TENN-SHARE vendor contracts and purchasing for all efforts with which TBR libraries are involved. The Science Direct database is one effort underway which is of major interest to all of the state 4 year institutions. 


The next agenda item entailed discussion of the organization and platforms which have been developed to support the TBR RODP library access. Dr. Robbie Melton’s efforts to promote and support libraries and information resources within the RODP framework were commended.  Again the effort to provide a streaming video base collection was referred to as a foundational model for future state projects. 


Aubrey Mitchell then presented an update on the ongoing TEL II projects, referring to the Tennessee Volunteers digital history project and the statewide addition of the Literature Resource Center to the base TEL package.  Statistics show significant use of LRC by high schools and private four years (see attached report).   Efforts continue to encourage K-12 awareness and use of TEL, and directed efforts are continuing with the Tennessee Department of Education in order to obtain Continuing Education Credits for TEL training workshops.  The status of One Step Access, another TEL II project, was presented by Jack Stacy, Tennessee State Library and David Atkins, UT Access & Delivery Services. The project goal is to connect academic and public libraries working to develop a state-wide interlibrary loan delivery system. Systems are falling in place for a state wide convergence of delivery platforms.  It was noted that UTK was able to cut delivery costs by three quarters utilizing Lantern.  Reference was also made to Project Athena in middle Tennessee. The final TEL II project reviewed was Tennessee Volunteer Voices.   The project has hired a project coordinator, with work continuing to designate regional coordinators in the three divisions of the state.  Selected local collections will be digitized.   Questions were raised regarding the possibilies of collaborative shared storage modeled on the ASERL efforts. TEL II leaders Linda Phillips and Chuck Sherrill were commended on their efforts. 


In an aside, Deborah Fletch volunteered to continue to house the TBR state spreadsheet of database information at Austin Peay.  Target date for input is after July.  She also noted that Aaron Dobbs, project coordinator, is leaving the Austin Peay library. 


In the review of TALC card policy, discussion centered on the viability of easing the authentication process before issuing the TALC card.  The process of moving into an integrated online access of authorization following the North Carolina model was mentioned and will be explored further. 


Discussion of the concepts of the Learning Commons as applied within the various institutions followed.  UTK shared the status of their major remodel and redirection to support their Commons vision.  The concepts of cultural, social and intellual collaborative spaces within the library building are being promoted by UTK. A Commons Web site is in development.  UTK efforts will be co-managed by Library Reference and Office of Information Technology personnel.  The combining of concepts of service and expertise to maximize student access is the goal of the project.  Laptops continue to be a popular support service at several libraries across the state.


The final agenda item was an initial discussion of state-wide purchase of a citation organizer, possibly either End Notes or Ref Notes, and extension of streaming video collection purchasing.  These projects will be explored further. 


Final discussion centered on academic library personnel recruitment and lack of salary support for librarians.  It was noted that the technical aspects of library jobs, if well presented, can result in higher salaries.  The Oklahoma State Data: National Survey for Faculty Salaries indicates a high correlation with the CUPA data.  A discussion followed concerning the uncertain definition of the library science faculty role in the CUPA data.  The lack of differential between a faculty member within a school of information science or a practicing academic librarian leads to inaccurate survey information.  Many academic administrators feel that the survey data is for Information science/library School faculty, but data review indicates that academic institutions are reporting library faculty salary data which do not have Information Science Schools. 


A round robin of news sharing from each institutional representative concluded the meeting.


Meeting was adjourned at 11:50 A.M.


Respectfully submitted



Mary Evelyn Lynn

Recording secretary

TBR Deans and Directors Council






Barbara Dewey, UTK; Mary Evelyn Lynn CLSCC; Aubrey Mitchell, UTK; Kathy Breeden, COSCC; Sally Ralentan, NSTCC; Louise Kelly, VSCC; Yeldiz Binkley, TSU; Theresa Liedtka, UTC; Sandy Oelschlegel, UTPreston; Tom Singarella, UTHSC; Don Craig, MTSU; Steve Rogers, UTM; Sue C. Szostak, MSCC; Duncan Parsons, NSTCC; Suresh Ponnappa, ETSU medical; Peter Nerzak, PSTCC; Vicky Leather, CSTCC; Sylverna Ford, UofM; Deborah Fetch, APSU; Rosa Burnett, Southwest.